I Don't Want This Poem to End

I Don't Want This Poem to End
Publisher: Skyscraper Publications
Published Date: July 2017
ISBN-13: 978-1911072096

When Mahmoud Darwish died unexpectedly after heart surgery in 2008, he left behind a towering reputation as Palestine’s national poet, and a selection of poems which have never been translated into English. His close friend, Professor Mohammad Shaheen, has translated these poems, written a moving account of the poet, and assembled other biographical materials which illuminate the poet’s life and work.  

These poems are from his early, middle and late stages of writing and show the whole range of Darwish’s talents as he developed a ‘voice’ which enthralled Arabic readers with its depth, passion and intelligence.  This book contains the first English translation of over 30 poems and verse sequences, accompanied by biographical essays by his friends and two unpublished prose pieces by the poet. 

Winners of the Palestine Book Awards

  • Places of Mind: A life of Edward Said
  • Except for Palestine: The limits of progressive politics
  • A history of Palestinian Islamic Jihad: Faith, awareness, and revolution in the middle east
  • Wondrous Journeys in Strange Lands
  • Against the Loveless World
  • The Hundred Years' War on Palestine: A History of Settler Colonialism and Resistance, 1917–2017
  • Life in a Country Album
  •  There Where You Are Not
  • The Parisan
  • Justice for Some: Law and the Question of Palestine
  • Stone Men: The Palestinians who built Israel
  • Nabil Anani: Palestine, Land and People
  • Where the Bird Disappeared
  • In the Land of My Birth: A Palestinian Boyhood
  • Balfour in the Dock: J.M.N. Jeffries & the Case for the Prosecution
  • Brothers Apart: Palestinian citizens of Israel and the Arab world
  • The Great War and the Remaking of Palestine
  • On the Arab-Jew, Palestine, and other displacements
  • Gaza under Hamas: From Islamic Democracy to Islamist Governance
  • The Commander: Fawzi Al-Qawuqji and the fight for Arab Independence 1914-1948